Training your kids to kayak - without it going badly

I have a daughter that is 6 years old, almost 7. I’ve never taken her out on the water, either kayaking or rafting. I’ve been boating for 17 years at different class levels, and want to get her into it, without scaring the $hit out of her and turning her off of it for life.

Does anyone have “do’s & don’ts” that you’ve experienced when training your kid? How young is too young to start roll practice? I have a sit-on-top boat now, so will start there, but want to do a gradual progression into whitewater. Any tips are appreciated. I’ve talked with some people with more aggressive kids, and how they just stuck them in a boat and sent them down class II. She is pretty tentative so i don’t want it to go badly. Ultimately, there’s no better sport so i want her to like it as much as i do.

RE teaching the roll at early age…
CONSIDER…that prior to a certain age (x) a child’s bones and structure are still developing.
CONSIDER…that shoulder dislocation only happens to beginners who don’t have the timing right…that dislocation is always the result of a pretty-violent SELF-RESCUE effort. Where “the timing” of an Eskimo Roll’s choreography are not quite right…a beginner will substitute max effort…and hurt themselves
CONSIDER…that a person cannot learn the Eskimo Roll without…in those beginning phases…putting in more muscular effort…than one should.

So my thought would be that a young person should perhaps not begin learning the Eskimo Roll until…say…(just guessing here)…those bones are reached a stage of 80% development…maybe 12-13-14…